'Music from Marlboro' Broadcast Series Premieres Wednesday at 6 pm

Jul 10, 2017

Since 1951, Marlboro Music has been a mecca for musicians and chamber music-lovers.  The Classical Network is pleased to announce the debut of its newest concert broadcast series, “Music from Marlboro,” featuring performances from the Marlboro archive, this Wednesday at 6 pm, hosted by Ross Amico.

Photo: A young Emanuel Ax and Yo-Yo Ma meet at Marlboro.
Credit Courtesy Marlboro Music

The Marlboro Music School and Festival brings together the world’s most acclaimed artists and exceptional young talent in the foothills of rural, southern Vermont, for seven weeks of relaxed, inspired and joyful music-making. Concerts of the Marlboro Festival can be enjoyed over five weekends, between mid-July and mid-August.  This year’s festival will be held from July 15 to August 13, on the campus of Marlboro College (a separate institution).  More information about Marlboro Music may be found at marlboromusic.org. 

 The Classical Network has been granted privileged access to the Marlboro archives, which contain many, many performances never before heard beyond the confines of the festival, all of them featuring chamber music luminaries and stars of tomorrow. 

Photo: Marlboro Music Artistic Director Mitsuko Uchida.
Credit Courtesy Marlboro Music

The series will commence with “Three Marches for Piano Four Hands,” by Beethoven, with an 87 year-old Mieczyslaw Horszowski and an 18 year-old Cecile Licad; the “Divertimento for 13 Solo Instruments,” by Marlboro co-founder Adolf Busch; and Carl Reinecke’s Octet for Winds in B-flat major, Op. 216. Future weeks will bring performances by Marlboro legends Rudolf Serkin, Marcel Moyse, Alexander Schneider and Pablo Casals, along with fascinating glimpses of rising stars and top musicians of tomorrow. 

 Join Ross Amico Wednesdays at 6 pm for “Music from Marlboro,” right here on The Classical Network.  


PHOTO: Marlboro founders Marcel Moyse, Louis Moyse, Rudolf Serkin, Blanche Moyse, Adolf Busch, Herman Busch (with cellist Nathan Chaikin second from left)
Credit Courtesy of Marlboro Music